UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Campus News
Your faculty and staff news since 1965
Current Issue: February 3, 2003
Volume 38, Number 13


Geoffrey Adams, assistant professor, School of Architecture and Planning, is a recipient of the 2003 Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture/American Institute of Architecture Students (ACSA/AIAS) New Faculty Teaching Award, announced Roger Schluntz, dean of the School of Architecture and Planning.

The selection process includes a review of formal nominations of new faculty members from professional architecture programs in both the United States and Canada, Schluntz said.

“This award is meaningful in that it demonstrates the huge priority the architecture program places on high quality teaching,” Andy Pressman, director of the Architecture Program, said.

Pressman said that currently many in academia place great value on research and creative works, and yet “teaching is not valued in research-based institutions even though it is the fundamental mission of working with students.”

Associate Dean Gabriella Gutierrez is a previous recipient of the award, Pressman said.

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, a nonprofit, membership association founded in 1912 to advance the quality of architectural education, has honored several UNM faculty, Pressman said. They are George Anselevicius, Anne Taylor and Don Schlegel.

“This is an extremely competitive award program. Congratulations go out to Geoffrey on his excellent work in the classroom and this extraordinary accomplishment. This is a very important recognition for the UNM Architecture Program,” Schluntz said.

The award will be formally presented by the ACSA president at the awards luncheon on Saturday, March 15, coinciding with the 2003 ACSA annual meeting in Louisville, Ky., March 14-17, 2003.


College of Education Professor Ginger Blalock, Ph.D., and Associate Professor Deborah Rifenbary-Murphy, Ph.D., are recipients of the Educator in the Workplace Award for 2002 awarded by the Middle Rio Grande Business and Education Collaborative (MRGBEC), a non-profit regional school-to-careers partnership for Central New Mexico. MRGBEC is also the Central Area Workforce Investment Board’s Youth Council.

The award is given annually to a business, organization or individuals who best contribute toward systemic reform in education by connecting educators with professional development through work-based learning experiences.

MRGBEC’s Educator in the Workplace program exposes educators in the mid Rio Grande region to careers and occupations through workplace tours, job shadowing and externships.

Blalock and Rifenbary-Murphy have proposed a new Academy of Career Awareness, Exploration, and Education, in collaboration with MRGBEC, area schools and colleges, and state and local agencies.

Their long-range goal is to help teachers, counselors and administrators understand and incorporate career development principles and strategies in their work with K-16 students.

“These initiatives help educators learn how to provide a real world context to help motivate students to stay in school and achieve higher academic standards by seeing the connection between content learning and their own long-range goals,” Blalock said.


Judith M. Espinosa, director of the ATR Institute, presented at the 2003 Meeting of the Transportation Research Board of the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC.

She discussed how a transit management system bridged the gap between rural New Mexico transit providers and governmental funding agencies to provide affordable, reliable public transportation.
Espinosa's presentation paper is online at www.unm.edu/~atr/crraft1-8-03.

Paul NathansonPaul Nathanson, director of the School of Law’s Institute of Public Law, has been elected chair of the board of directors for the National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare.

With several million members and additional supporters across the nation, including 20,000 in New Mexico, the committee is a premiere advocacy group devoted to the retirement security of U.S. citizens. Nathanson has been a board member since 1998.

“This is a critical time for social insurance programs,” Nathanson said. “Many in Washington favor proposals that would partially privatize Social Security - trading off the guaranteed benefit of Social Security for personal retirement accounts invested in the stock market.”

There are similar proposals afoot in Washington that would make Medicare more reliant on private insurance companies.

“This is a first step toward privatization of the one program that ensures healthcare for almost all seniors in this country,” Nathanson said.

Barbara B. Kennelly, committee president and CEO and former U.S. congresswoman (D-CT), when announcing the appointment said “As an attorney and activist, he has been a tireless defender of the rights of seniors throughout this country. He is a recognized expert on aging issues and elder law, having written extensively on geriatrics, healthcare and financial issues of concern to seniors. He has been an important voice on our board,” Kennelly said.

Nathanson’s goals as chair include intensifying efforts to educate young people.