UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Campus News
Your faculty and staff news since 1965
Current Issue: June 2, 2003
Volume 38, Number 21

UNM Foundation elects five new board members

The UNM Foundation has elected five new board members to its Board of Directors. Board terms are through June 30, 2007.

The members include: Dr. Guy P. Archambeau, Jr., Pueblo of Acoma; Thomas F. Blueher, Esq., and Robert Taichert, Esq., both of Albuquerque; Donald L. Chalmers, Rio Rancho, and John J. “Jay” Lopez, San Diego, Calif.

Re-elected to a second term are George Friberg, Peter Parnegg and Mary Ann Weems, all of Albuquerque; Yolanda Jones King, Moriarty; Iona Lee, San Mateo, N.M., and Leon Silver, Pasadena, Calif.

Robert M. Goodman, Albuquerque, is chair, and Leslie Elgood, development director for the University, is president of the board. Other board officers are Julie Weaks Gutiérrez, treasurer; Ted Martinez, secretary, and D. F. “Duffy” Swan, vice chair, all of Albuquerque.

Archambeau is an associate professor of educational administration at New Mexico Highlands University in Las Vegas. He holds a bachelor of science degree in elementary education, a master of arts degree in educational administration and an Ed.D. in curriculum and instruction from Northern Arizona University. He is a member of the New Mexico Association for Bilingual Education.

Blueher is a shareholder in the law firm of Vogel, Campbell and Blueher, PC. Admitted to the New Mexico State Bar in 1981, he holds a J.D. from UNM. He also graduated cum laude and with distinction, earning a bachelor of arts and sciences degree from Dartmouth College. Blueher currently serves on the Albuquerque Bar Association Board of Directors.

Chalmers is president of Don Chalmers Ford in Rio Rancho. In February 2001, Ford Motor Company recognized him and only five other Ford dealers nationwide with a “Heroes of the Planet” award for his social and community service. He is on the boards of directors for Wells Fargo Bank, Albuquerque Economic Development, Inc., the Better Business Bureau of New Mexico and the New Mexico Auto Dealers Association. The Tulsa-native holds a bachelor of science degree in marketing from Oklahoma State University. Chalmers and his wife are members of the UNM Foundation’s Popejoy Society.

Lopez is president of Lopez Engineering, Inc. Professional Consulting Engineers, in San Diego, Calif. His A.B. and bachelor of science degree in electrical engineering are from the University of Notre Dame and his master of science degree in electrical engineering is from the Electric Utility Management Program at New Mexico State University. His professional affiliations include the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Illuminating Engineering Society, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, and the Associated Energy Engineers.

Taichert is of counsel to Hinkle, Hensley, Shanor & Martin, LLP. He received a bachelor’s degree from the UNM College of Arts and Sciences and his J.D. from Harvard University. He became a member of the New Mexico State Bar in 1956, and the Arizona State Bar in 1984. His practice areas include business, mediation and arbitration, banking, trusts, estate planning, corporate, tax, real estate, health care and commercial litigation. A member of the American College of Civil Trial Mediators for more than 30 years, he also serves as a qualified arbitrator for the Federal Emergency Management Agency in cases related to the Cerro Grande Fire. Taichert is chair of the UNM Foundation President’s Club.