UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Campus News
Your faculty and staff news since 1965
May 10, 2004
Volume 39, Number 15


CASTL announces awards for exceptional teaching

CASTL, UNM’s Center for the Advancement of Scholarship in Teaching and Learning, recently presented awards for exceptional teaching at a ceremony in the SUB ballroom. 


UNM President Louis Caldera presented the 2004-2006 Presidential Teaching Fellow to Christopher C. Mead, professor, School of Architecture and Planning.

Provost Brian Foster and Gary Smith, chair of the Teaching Enhancement Committee, presented the Outstanding Teaching of the Year award to two from the College of Education: Leonard R. Kravitz, associate professor, physical performance and development; and Elizabeth Keefe, educational specialties.

Outstanding Adjunct Teacher/Lecture of the Year awards were given to Mary Anne Santos Newhall, Fine Arts, theatre and dance; John D. Benavidez, Anderson Schools of Management, marketing; and Stephen S. Alley, Arts & Sciences, psychology.

Teresita Aguilar, dean, Office of Graduate Studies, presented Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year awards to Lillian Gorman, Spanish and Portuguese; David Weiss, Communication and Journalism; Dan Breecker, Earth & Planetary Sciences; Michele Ferm, Foreign Languages and Literatures; Andrey Glubokov, Mathematics and Statistics; and Lori Ebert, Health Education.

International Excellence Awards honor three

Michael Campana, professor and director of the UNM Water Resources Program; Robin Côté, staff, Latin American and Iberian Institute, and Jason Ben-Meir, doctoral candidate in sociology, receive International Excellence Awards. Photo by Greg Johnston.

Three members of the UNM community who made outstanding contributions to international programs and education were recently honored on campus.

Professor Michael Campana, Earth & Planetary Sciences and director of the UNM Water Resources Program, received an International Excellence Award for his efforts to improve water resources throughout the developing world.

For a number of years he has taken groups of UNM students to work on water development projects in rural Honduras. “The Honduras program is one of the best international opportunities available to UNM students,” said Ken Carpenter, associate director of International Programs & Studies.

Staff recipient of the International Excellence Award was Robyn Côté, program coordinator, Latin American & Iberian Institute. Côté, who has bachelor’s and master’s degrees from UNM, is responsible for a number of international exchange and intensive language programs for UNM students in Spain and Latin America. She also works as an administrator with the Brazilian Studies Association, housed on the UNM campus, the Guanajuato Summer Law Institute, and a number of other UNM programs in Spain and Latin America.

A third International Excellence Award honored Jason Ben-Meir, doctoral candidate in sociology. Ben-Meir came to UNM in 2000 after serving in the Peace Corps in Morocco and working and studying in Israel. While at UNM, Ben-Meir received a grant from the U.S. Agency for International Development to coordinate a rural forestry project for several Moroccan communities.

He has also worked with homeless women and at-risk teenagers in the state.

KUNM staff, volunteers earn NMAP top honors

KUNM 89.9 FM took Station of the Year recently at the 2004 New Mexico Associated Press Awards.

In the General News category, KUNM volunteer Joe Gardner Wessely received a first place for his story, “Immigrant workers freedom ride,” while another volunteer, Kent Paterson took a third place for “Mexico ecocide.”

In Feature News, KUNM staff Leslie Clark received a first place for “Ecoversity,” UNM student Mercedes Mejia got a second for “Escuela nacional” and part time UNM instructor Jeremiah Luria Johnson got a third place for “Chicano vision.”

KUNM got the first place award in the Newscast category. KUNM newscasters include students, staff and community volunteers.

In the Documentary category, Paterson received a first place for “Lucio’s Legacy,” and UNM student Stuart Overbey took a second for “Mideast conflict.”

Lindsey receives Fulbright

LindseyByron Lindsey, associate professor of Russian, was recently notified by the U.S Department of Education that he is a recipient of a Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad award. Lindsey’s project is to study and translate texts from the literature of Dagestan, a region from the former Soviet Union in the northern Caucasus. This area and its religion and culture are little known and studied in the West, and apart from some translations of their writings from various native languages into Russian, these works are not even widely available in a language accessible to a broad spectrum of scholars.

Lindsey, faculty in UNM’s Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures for more than 30 years, is well known as a translator of Russian literature and has already edited several volumes of short stories translated from Russian. In 1988-1989 he received a Fulbright fellowship for study in Kazakstan, and in 2000 he received the prestigious William Arrowsmith award for his translation of a Russian short story.

His fellowship will fall during the first half of 2005 when he is applying for a sabbatical from his teaching duties at UNM.

Scharff elected American Historians fellow

ScharffHistory Professor Virginia Scharff has been elected a fellow of the Society of American Historians (SAH), an organization founded in 1939 by Allan Nevins and others to promote good historical writing. Membership is limited to 250 fellows, and Scharff was one of 13 elected this year.

The notification letter said, “in recognition of the literary and scholarly distinction of [her] historical work.”
Scharff’s published works includes “Taking the Wheel: Women and the Coming of the Motor Age,” Collier Macmillian Canada, 1991; and “Twenty Thousand Roads: Women, Movement, and the West,” University of California Press, 2003.

Scharff has served as consultant on numerous television documentary projects.

She also writes mystery novels. Under the pseudonym Virginia Swift, she has two books: “ Bad Company” (2002) and “ Brown-Eyed Girl” (2000). he Robert O. Anderson Schools of Management selected Richard A. Reid as honoree for the 2004 Community Leadership Award.

Environmental tech named professional of the year

Frank E. Perez, an Environmental Health and Safety Tech III with the UNM Department of Safety, Health and Environmental Affairs, has been named the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) New Mexico Chapter Safety Professional of the Year for 2003.

Perez’s service to the local chapter through leadership and committee involvement and his expertise in the safety profession were but two factors in earning the award. Also contributing to the nomination were his professional development activities and commitment to the safety profession. He received the award during a ceremony at the chapter’s 29th annual conference in April.