UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Campus News
Your faculty and staff news since 1965
Current Issue:  April 8, 2002
Volume 37, Number 18

OEO director search begins
13-member committee selected

UNM President William C. Gordon has announced the formation of a 13-member search committee, which will work on identifying candidates for the position of director of UNM's Office of Equal Opportunity (OEO).

"I'm very pleased with the quality and diversity of the search committee. I've asked them to identify a pool of the best qualified six to ten candidates and they've begun this process," Gordon said.

Among other duties, the UNM OEO director develops and implements comprehensive equal opportunity and affirmative action plans for the University and ensures UNM's compliance with all local, state and federal civil rights laws and regulations.

The individual selected will succeed OEO Interim Director Theresa Ramos, who has served in that capacity for about a year following the retirement of director Anne Thomas.

Chair of the search committee is Mary Vosevich, director of the UNM Physical Plant Department. Search coordinator is Barbara Carver, assistant to the President.

UNM faculty committee members are Paul Roth, dean of the School of Medicine; Ron Schrader, chair and professor of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics; Alfred Matthewson, professor of Law; Leslie Oaks, associate professor in the Anderson Schools of Management and a representative of the Hispanics for UNM organization and the Faculty Senate; and, Susan Rivera, associate professor of Spanish and Portuguese.

UNM staff committee members are Theresa Ramos; Jean Bannon, associate University Counsel; Jon Armendariz, manager of Dispute Resolution; Raqui Martinez, director of Faculty Contracts; and, Barbara Galbadon, supervisor of Physician Activity Database, School of Medicine, and Staff Council representative.

The UNM student representative is Israel Marquez, a junior majoring in psychology. The community member serving on the committee is Margaret Harvey, Office of Equal Opportunity director at the Sandia National Laboratories.