UNM Today


Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition


Links

 

Campus News
WaterWise
University of New Mexico experts work to solve regional water issues

Back to main page

Experts to know

More about UNM's water experts, including highlights
to current
and recent projects.

 

David S. Brookshire, professor, Economics Department, College of Arts and Sciences; director, UNM Science Impact Laboratory for Policy and Economics

Expertise: Water markets/banking/leasing, disaggregated consumer and industrial demand for water, riparian valuation of ecosystems, integrated water resources demand management modeling

Contact: 277-1964 or brookshi@unm.edu

* * *

Steve Cabaniss, professor, Chemistry Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Environmental chemistry of metals, carbon processes, environmental modeling

Contact: 277-4445 or cabaniss@unm.edu

* * *

Michael Campana, Albert J. and Mary Jane Black Professor of Hydrogeology, Earth and Planetary Sciences Department, College of Arts and Sciences; director, UNM Water Resources Program; interim director, UNM International Rural Water Institute. Campana is also founder, president and treasurer of the Ann Campana Judge Foundation, www.acjfoundation.org

Expertise: Hydrology and hydrogeology; water resources in developing countries

Contact: 277-5249 or aquadoc@unm.edu

* * *

Janie Chermak, associate professor, Department of Economics, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Resource economics with an emphasis in water and energy

Contact: 277-4906 or jchermak@unm.edu

* * *

Julie Coonrod, associate professor, Civil Engineering Department, School of Engineering

Expertise: hydrology, hydraulics, Rio Grande restoration

Contact: 277-3233 or jcoonrod@unm.edu

* * *

Cliff Crawford, professor emeritus, Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Bosque ecosystem monitoring program, director

Contact: 277-7542 or ccbosque@juno.com

* * *

Kristan Cockerill, lecturer, American Studies, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: History and policy related to water management in the Western U.S., water portrayals in literature, media

Contact: 277-3929, kristan5@unm.edu

***

Laura Crossey, professor, Earth & Planetary Sciences Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Water chemistry, sedimentary geochemistry, geomicrobiology

Contact: 277-5349 or lcrossey@unm.edu

* * *

Clifford Neal Dahm, professor, Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Hydrogeoecology

Contact: 277-2850 or cdahm@sevilleta.unm.edu

* * *

Bill Fleming, associate professor, School of Architecture & Planning

Expertise: Watershed management and modeling, environmental planning

Contact: 277-6455 or fleming@la.unm.edu

* * *

Denise Fort, professor, School of Law

Expertise: Water policy, environmental law

Contact: 277-1094 or fortede@law.unm.edu

* * *

Jim Gosz, professor, Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Ecosystem ecology

Contact: 272-7038 or jgosz@sevilleta.unm.edu

* * *

Dave Gutzler, professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Climate prediction, El Nino, global warming, climatology of Southwest

Contact: 277-3328 or gutzler@unm.edu

* * *

Roger Hagengruber, director of both the Office for Policy, Security, and Technology and Institute for Public Policy, Political Science Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Public views of water issues and related technology investments

Contact: 277-1710 or rlhagen@unm.edu

* * *

Em Hall, professor, School of Law; editor, Natural Resources Journal

Expertise: Water law, water rights, interstate compacts, equitable apportionment, federal water rights, endangered species act, Native American rights, water rights under the treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo

Contact: 277-2866 or Hall@unm.edu

* * *

David Henkel, associate professor, School of Architecture and Planning

Expertise: Transborder water issues, eco-tourism, community water systems

Contact: 277-1276 or cymro@unm.edu

* * *

Kerry Howe, assistant professor, Civil Engineering , School of Engineering

Expertise: Water treatment technologies, membrane processes, reverse osmosis, desalination, water chemistry

Contact: 277-2702 or howe@unm.edu

***

Basia Irland, professor, Art and Art History Department, College of Fine Arts

Expertise: Art projects related to harvesting rain; international water-borne diseases and non-potable agua; connecting diverse communities along rivers

Contact: 277-9128 or basia@unm.edu

* * *

Suedeen Kelly, professor, School of Law

Expertise: Energy law, public utility regulation, legislative process, renewable energy

Contact: 277-2832 or kelly@law.unm.edu

* * *

Susan Kelly, associate director, Utton Transboundry Resource Center, School of Law

Expertise: Water rights, landuse, water resource management, endangered species, Rio Grande compact

Contact: 277-2146 or skelly@law.unm.edu

* * *

Timothy Lowrey, associate professor, Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Plant systematics, plant breeding and hybridization, reproductive biology

Contact: 277-2604 or tlowrey@unm.edu

* * *

Les McFadden, professor and chair, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Geomorphology, soils of arid and semiarid regions

Contact: 277-4204 or lmfadnm@unm.edu

* * *

Grant Meyer, associate professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Geomorphology, environmental geology

Contact: 277-5384 or gmeyer@unm.edu

* * *

Manuel C. Molles, professor, Biology Department, College of Arts of Sciences, director, Museum of Southwestern Biology

Expertise: Riparian ecology, ecology of desert streams, ecology of exotic species.

Contact: 277-3050 or molles@sevilleta.unm.edu

* * *

Marilyn O’Leary, research professor, director of the Utton Transboundary Resources Center, School of Law

Expertise: Transboundary water policy and law

Contact: 277-3253 or oleary@law.unm.edu

* * *

Judith Phillips, adjunct faculty, Landscape Architecture Program, School of Architecture and Planning

Expertise: Ecologically-appropriate landscape design

Contact: 277-2903 or jphil555@unm.edu

* * *

William T. Pockman, assistant professor, Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Plant ecology and physiology, plant water use and drought tolerance

Contact: 277-2724 or pockman@unm.edu

Jose A. Rivera, professor, Public Administration and School of Architecture and Planning

Expertise: Acequia irrigation organizations

Contact: 277-2257 or jrivera@unm.edu

* * *

Sylvia Rodriguez, associate professor, Anthropology Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Acequias, moral economy of water sharing, water rights adjudication

Contact: 277-3404 or sylrodri@unm.edu

* * *

Zachary Sharp, professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Isotope geochemistry as it pertains to tracing water sources and mixing

Contact: 277-2000 or zsharp@unm.edu

* * *

Robert L Sinsabaugh, associate professor, Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Ecosystem ecology, microbiology and nutrient cycling

Contact: 277-3407 or rlsinsab@unm.edu

* * *

John Stormont, professor, Civil Engineering, School of Engineering

Expertise: Unsaturated hydrology and water balance, evaporation, mine waste drainage

Contact: 277-6063 or jcstorm@unm.edu

* * *

Christina Takacs-Vesbach, assistant professor, Biology, College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: Environmental microbiology, climate change relating to biology, microbial ecology, extreme environments.

Contact: 277-3418 or cvesbach@unm.edu

* * *

Bruce Thomson, regents’ professor, Civil Engineering Department, School of Engineering

Expertise: Environmental engineering, water and wastewater treatment, radioactive and hazardous waste management

Contact: 277-4729 or bthomson@unm.edu

* * *

Tom Turner, associate professor, Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, and curator of fishes, UNM Museum of Southwestern Biology

Expertise: Fish ecology, evolutionary biology

Contact: 277-7541 or turnert@unm.edu

* * *

Tim J. Ward, professor, and chair, Civil Engineering Department, School of Engineering

Expertise: Surface water hydrology and engineering, including rainfall and runoff processes, erosion and sediment transport, river mechanics, mass wasting, contaminant transport, water quality, field experimentation, computer modeling of hydrologic systems, watershed management, water resources planning and international issues.

Contact: 277-2328 or email: tjward@unm.edu

Comments to:

Public Affairs Department
MSC01 1170
Hodgin Hall, 2nd floor
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
Telephone: (505) 277-5813
Fax: (505) 277-1981
Email: paaffair@unm.edu

The University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM 87131, (505) 277-0111
Copyright © 2002 The University of New Mexico.
See our Standard Disclaimer and Copyright Information Page.
The University of New Mexico is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Institution. In accordance with the American with Disabilities Act, the information in this site is available in alternate formats upon request.
Comments to webmaster@unm.edu