UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Campus News
Your faculty and staff news since 1965
December 13, 2004
Volume 40, Number 5


Caldera named to HACU governing board

President Louis Caldera has been named a 2004-05 governing board member of the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU). HACU is the nation’s leading voice for the higher education needs of the country’s largest ethnic population.

“HACU is excited to welcome the expertise, visionary leadership and extraordinary credentials that every new officer and board member brings to an ssociation that will surely benefit with record new reach and results in the critical year ahead,” said HACU President and CEO Antonio R. Flores.


Crevenna honored for 60 years of service

Theo R. Crevenna, deputy director of UNM’s Latin American and Iberian Institute, has received special distinction in recognition of his 60 years of dedication to the socio-educational, economic, scientific and cultural development of the Americas.

The Inter-American Agency for Cooperation and Development of the Organization of American States (OAS) and the Inter-American Organization for Higher Education (OUI) presented the award at the XIV special general assembly of the Ibero-American Science and Technology Education Consortium (ISTEC), held recently at the University of South Florida in Tampa.

Crevenna has played a strategic role in strengthening relations between UNM and the OAS through inter-institutional agreements that have allowed for a wide range of programs, projects and activities related to scientific, technological, educational and cultural matters, as well as a scholarships and professional training program.

In addition, in 2000 Crevenna, together with other colleagues from UNM and ISTEC, played an important role in creating strategies to promote human resources through new information and communication technologies for distance education.


Eaton elected to three-year term on national board

R. Philip Eaton, M.D., executive vice president for Health Sciences, has been elected to the board of the Association of Academic Health Centers. Eaton’s term will run for three years.

Nationally recognized as a researcher in endocrinology, Eaton’s prolific career includes numerous sponsored research projects—among them collaboration with Sandia National Laboratories that led to the invention and patent of the first implantable, programmable insulin pump and ongoing development of the glucose sensor. Eaton’s breakthrough research has significantly improved the care and treatment of people with diabetes.

The Association of Academic Health Centers is a national, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the health of people by advancing the leadership of academic health centers in health profession education, biomedical and health services research, and health care delivery.


American Cancer Society honors CRTC employee

Christine Forsythye, UNM Cancer Research & Treatment Center, was given the American Cancer Society Sunrise Award for New Mexico General Volunteer 2004 at a recent awards ceremony.

Forsythe is the coordinator for the “Look Good, Feel Better” program at the UNM CRTC. Colleagues call her the “make it happen lady.” Not only does she run the program designed to help women with cancer adjust to having wear wigs, hats or makeup, but she goes into the community to get the items donated.


Nagatani receives faculty acknowledgment award

University Libraries recognized well-known artist and Regent’s Professor Patrick Nagatani recently in the Willard Reading Room of Zimmerman Library. As part of the ceremony, Nagatani discussed his work in a lecture “Chromatherapy Images.”
Nagatani is a professor in the Department of Art and Art History. He has received the Outstanding Faculty Award from the College of Fine Arts and a regent’s professorship during his nineteen years as a member of the UNM faculty.

The University Libraries Faculty Acknowledgement Program honors faculty members for significant achievements in research and other scholarly/creative publications and projects at the university.