UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Your faculty and staff news since 1965
March 14, 2005
Volume 40, Number 8

Singing praises: UNM alumni honor four

The UNM Alumni Association honored four alumni and faculty at its annual awards dinner in February at the Sheraton Old Town.

The James F. Zimmerman Award is given to an alum who brought fame and honor to UNM or New Mexico.

JacksonRecipient Jerry Jackson, (’64 BAED), is a retired executive vice president of Merck & Company, an international pharmaceutical firm. Jackson worked for Merck for 30 years, serving as president of Merck’s worldwide human health division, senior vice president for Merck’s specialty chemicals business and president of Merck’s international division. Jackson has also served on the board of directors of several biotech pharmaceutical companies and is currently on the boards of Intrabiotics Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Myogen, Inc., and Langford I.C. Systems, Inc.

MelendresThe Rodey Award is given to someone who has devoted an unusual amount of time in a leadership capacity and has contributed significantly to the field of education. Recipient Art Melendres, (’58 BS, ’65 BA, ’71 JD), is a partner in the Modrall, Sperling, Roehl, Harris & Sisk law firm. Currently, he is a seated commissioner on the New Mexico Commission on Higher Education. Melendres also served on the UNM Board of Regents. In his legal practice, Melendres serves as general counsel to the Albuquerque Public Schools, advising the board and administration on open meetings, inspection of public records, real estate, employment and other matters.

The Erna S. Fergusson Award is given for exceptional accomplishment or distinguished service to the University. Honoree Jerry Atkinson (’67 BBA), is a retired senior director/owner of Atkinson & Company, CPA’s, and currently a rancher.

AtkinsonAtkinson served on the UNM Alumni Association Board, which he presided over in 1985-86, and on the UNM Foundation Board. He also served on the boards of the TVI Foundation and the Albuquerque Public Schools Foundation. A leader in his profession, serving in many capacities in the New Mexico Society of CPA’s and the Associated Accounting Firms International, Atkinson was a strong proponent of his firm’s “giving back” to the community.

RebolledoThe UNM Alumni Association Faculty Award recognizes outstanding teaching and service to students. Recipient Tey Diana Rebolledo is the chair of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese. Rebolledo, who earned her master’s degree at UNM, began her career at UNM as director of the Women’s Studies program. A scholar in the areas of Chicano/a and Latin American literature, she was named UNM regents’ professor in 1999 and distinguished professor by the Modern Language Association in 2003.