UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Your faculty and staff news since 1965
May 9, 2005
Volume 40, Number 10

CASTL honors outstanding teachers

By Carolyn Gonzales

UNM’s Center for the Advancement of Scholarship in Teaching and Learning (CASTL) recently presented their annual teaching awards.

Members of the Faculty Senate Teaching Enhancement Committee and previous award winners selected those honored. Previous award winners were also recognized

President Louis Caldera presented Timothy Moy, associate professor of history, with the Presidential Teaching Fellow award, 2005-07.

Nick Flor, assistant professor, marketing information/decision sciences, Anderson Schools of Management, and Anita Obermeier, associate professor of English, received the Outstanding Teacher of the Year, 2004-05. Acting Provost Reed Dasenbrock and Gary Smith, chair, Faculty Senate Teaching Enhancement Committee, presented the awards.

Smith and Dasenbrock also presented awards to Robert Busch, lecturer III, chemical and nuclear engineering; Kathryn Dimiduk, lecturer III, physics and astronomy; Margaret Mactavish, lecturer II, Taos Branch; and Bruce A. Noll, lecturer III, educational leadership and organizational learning, College of Education. They received the Outstanding Adjunct Teacher/Lecturer of the Year awards, 2004-05.

Jocelyn H. Dehaas, anthropology; Elisa Grimm, physical performance and development, College of Education; Lisa Ragdale, English; Elizabeth Root, communication and journalism and CASTL; Qin Zhang, communication and journalism, received the Susan Deese Roberts Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year award, 2004-05. Teresita Aguilar, dean, Office of Graduate Studies, presented these awards, now bearing the name of CASTL’s founder.