UNM Today

Contact Us
Current Issue
Editorial Policies
Previous Issues
Publication Dates

Subscribe to
email edition



Campus News
Your faculty and staff news since 1965
Current Issue:  May 6, 2002
Volume 37, Number 20

Moy named fine arts dean

James S. MoyJames S. Moy, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Theatre and Drama at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been named dean of the College of Fine Arts at UNM, effective January 2, 2003, announced UNM Provost Brian Foster recently.

Moy, a professor in the Theatre and Drama Department, UW-Madison, since 1994, has held the chair position since 1998. He was associate professor, 1984-94, and assistant professor, 1981-84. In addition, he has taught at the University of Texas at Austin, Northwestern University, and the University of Oregon, Eugene.

While he trained as a specialist in 19th century American cultural history, Moy’s recent work focuses on the representations of race in America. In addition to being widely anthologized, Moy’s scholarly articles and reviews have appeared in the most important journals in the field. He is a former editor of “Theatre Journal” and his book publications include “Marginal Sights: Staging the Chinese in America” and “Reviewing Asian America: Locating Diversity.”

At UW-Madison, he was a member of the Executive Committee of the Arts and Humanities Division, Executive Committee of the Arts Institute and co-chair of the Campus Climate Committee. In addition, he has served on panels for the Ford Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Moy is a member of the Association for Asian American Studies, American Society for Theatre Research, Association for Theatre in Higher Education, and other professional organizations.

He earned his Ph.D. in theatre history and playwriting from the University of Illinois at Urbana, 1977; and MA from the University of Illinois at Chicago, 1973, and BA, 1971.

“James brings energy and vision to the deanship and knowledge gained from serving at one of our nation’s most distinguished universities,” Foster said.

Five candidates vied for the UNM position. The other finalists were David W. Bernstein, professor and head of the Music Department, Mills College, Oakland, Calif.; David J. Magidson, professor and co-director of the Department of Theatre Center for Arts and Public Policy, Wayne State University, Detroit, Mich.; Gaylyn Studlar, professor and director of the Program in Film and Video Studies, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; and George Arasimowicz, dean of the Division of Arts, Media and Communications, Wheaton College, Wheaton, Ill.

The UNM College of Fine Arts, founded in 1936, is comprised of six units: The Bainbridge Bunting Memorial Slide Library, Department of Art and Art History, Department of Music, Department of Theatre and Dance, Department of Media Arts and Tamarind Institute.

More than 100 regular faculty and staff currently serve approximately 1,300 students seeking degrees in the arts as well as thousands of other UNM students who pursue understanding of the arts through college courses. Each of the academic units offers bachelor’s degrees. Master’s degrees may be earned in art history, dance, music, and theatre. Terminal degrees are available in art studio (M.F.A.), dramatic writing (M.F.A.), and art history (Ph.D.). Tamarind Institute offers a Master Printer Certificate. H