UNM Branch Campus Los Alamos sample logo

The University of New Mexico


Contact: Carolyn Gonzales 277-5920

April 30, 2007

Outstanding Teaching Awards Announced

The Office of Support for Effective Teaching and the Faculty Senate Teaching Enhancement Committee have announced UNM’s Outstanding Teachers for 2006-07. The College of Arts and Sciences swept this year’s awards.

All recipients will be honored at a presentation and reception in Student Union Building Ballroom C on Wednesday, May 2 at 2 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

“The bedrock mission of a university is to teach well. I am both humbled and proud that the faculty and graduate teaching assistants of the College of Arts and Sciences swept the outstanding teaching awards at UNM this year. But, I am not surprised--we take seriously our responsibility not only to our majors, but to the university as a whole, to create an environment that inspires student success," said Vera Norwood, acting dean, College of Arts and Sciences.

The recipient of the Presidential Teaching Fellow is Jane Ellen Smith, psychology. Outstanding Teacher of the Year goes to Mary Domski, philosophy; and Jane Selverstone, earth and planetary sciences.

Adriana Aceves, mathematics and statistics, is the year’s Outstanding Adjunct Teacher/Lecturer of the Year.

Individuals receiving the Susan Deese-Roberts Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year Awards are: Alvaro Nosedal-Sanchez, mathematics and statistics; Christopher Brown, communication and journalism; Dana Reinhardt, foreign languages and literatures; Dennis Newell and Jennifer New, earth and planetary sciences; Erin Wilkinson, linguistics; and Robin Runia, English.



The University of New Mexico is the state's largest university, serving more than 32,000 students. UNM is home to the state's only schools of law, medicine, pharmacy and architecture and operates New Mexico's only academic health center. UNM is noted for comprehensive undergraduate programs and research that benefits the state and the nation.