Campus News - August 20, 2001


Chris Calott, visiting associate professor, Architecture and Planning, is the winner of four local and regional design awards and competions over the past eighteen months. Most recently, his project, “Los Candelarias Village Center & Metropolitan Revitalization Plan” won an Innovation in Planning Award from the Western Region/American Planning Association.

Calott’s project is an urban design neighborhood revitalization project at the corner of 12th and Candelaria for the City of Albuquerque.  The City is presently acquiring land at the site to implement this project.


The Maine Photographic Workshops of Rockport College has selected Mexican Suite by Oliver Debroise and translated/edited by UNM General Library Archivist Stella de sa Rego as Best Photographic History Book of the year. The book is available in the Anderson Room in Zimmerman Library and in the Fine Arts Library.


Sam Giammo, director of Public Affairs for the UNM Health Sciences Center, has been elected to the College of Fellows of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA).

Election to the College, which was established in 1989, is a professional honor based on lifetime achievement. There are 314 members of the College out of nearly 20,000 members of PRSA. He will be inducted in October during PRSA’s annual international conference held in Atlanta.


Student Union Building (SUB) Director Walter C. Miller is coordinating the guest luncheon for the Rose Bowl National Championship game for collegiate football on Jan. 3.

This marks Miller’s 14th year as a member of the Pasadena Tournament of Roses.


Frank Perez, safety technician II for Safety, Health and Environmental Affairs has been elected President of the New Mexico Chapter of the American Society of Safety Engineers for 2001-2002FY.

The American Society of Safety Engineers, a non-profit organization, is the world’s oldest and largest professional safety organization committed to protecting people, property and the environment. The New Mexico Chapter was chartered in 1956, includes all of New Mexico and has some 300 members.


The Occupational Therapy Program faculty recently honored five individuals as Friends of Occupational Therapy for their outstanding contributions to the program.

They are: Clark Hansbarger, M.D., associate dean in the School of Medicine and an associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics; Shirley Hicks, OTR/L the second occupational therapist employed in New Mexico and major contributor to the program; Mary Hooper, MS, CCC-SLP, clinical educational coordinator at St. Joseph’s Healthcare in Albuquerque; Keri Scott, MS, OTR/L, of Albuquerque Public Schools, contact person for Occupational Therapy students for professional onsite experiences; Clifford Qualls, Ph.D., professor emeritus in Mathematics and Statistics and bio-statistician in the Clinical Research Center of the School of Medicine.

The University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Copyright ©1998 The University of New Mexico.
Comments to:
Campus News
Public Affairs Department
Hodgin Hall, 2nd floor
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0011
Telephone: (505) 277-5813, Fax: (505) 277-1981