Contacts: Mary Conrad, 277-5808
Eleanor Sanchez, 277-1813

February 15, 2005


The University of New Mexico Alumni Association will bestow four major awards upon alumni and faculty at its annual event Thursday, Feb. 17, at the Sheraton Old Town.

This year’s recipients include: Jerry Jackson, James F. Zimmerman Award; Art Melendres, Rodey Award; Jerry Atkinson, Erna S. Fergusson Award; and Tey Diana Rebolledo, Alumni Association Faculty Award.

Jerry Jackson (’64 BAED)
Jackson is a retired executive vice president of Merck & Company, an international pharmaceutical firm. Jackson worked for Merck for 30 years, serving in such capacities as president of Merck’s worldwide human health division, senior vice president for Merck’s specialty chemicals business, and president of Merck’s international division. Jackson has also served on the board of directors of several biotech pharmaceutical companies and is currently on the boards of Intrabiotics pharmaceuticals, Inc., Myogen, Inc., and Langford I.C. Systems, Inc.

The James F. Zimmerman Award is given to an alum of the university who has brought fame and honor to UNM or New Mexico.

Art Melendres, (’65 BA, ’71 JD, ’58 BS)
Melendres is a partner in the Modrall, Sperling, Roehl, Harris & Sisk law firm. Currently, he is a commissioner on the New Mexico Commission on Higher Education. Melendres has also served on the UNM Board of Regents beginning 1991 and completed his service as president of the Board. In his legal practice, Melendres serves as general counsel to the Albuquerque Public Schools, advising the board and administration on open meetings, inspection of public records, real estate, employment and other matters.

The Rodey Award is given to someone who has devoted an unusual amount of time in a leadership capacity and has contributed significantly to the field of education.

Jerry Atkinson (’67 BBA)
Atkinson is a retired senior director/owner of Atkinson & Company, CPA’s and currently a rancher. Atkinson served on the UNM Alumni Association Board of Directors, which he presided over in 1985-86, and on the UNM Foundation Board of Directors. He also served on the boards of the TVI Foundation and the Albuquerque Public Schools Foundation. A leader in his profession, serving in many capacities in the New Mexico Society of CPA’s and the Associated Accounting Firms International, Atkinson was a strong proponent of his firm’s “giving back” to the community.

The Erna S. Fergusson Award is given for exceptional accomplishment or distinguished service to the University.

Tey Diana Rebolledo (‘62 MA)
Rebolledo is the chair of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese. Rebolledo, who earned her master’s degree at UNM, began her career at UNM as director of the Women’s Studies program. A scholar in the areas of Chicano/a and Latin American literature, Rebolledo was named UNM Regents’ Professor in 1999 and Distinguished Professor by the Modern Language Association in 2003.

The UNM Alumni Association Faculty Award recognizes outstanding teaching and service to students.

# # #

Comments to:
Public Affairs Department
MSC01 1170
Hodgin Hall, 2nd floor
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0011
Telephone: (505) 277-5813
Fax: (505) 277-1981