Contact: Frank D. Martinez, 277-1811

May 23, 2001


An anthropology professor and two biology professors have been designated as "Distinguished Professors" at the University of New Mexico, UNM President William C. Gordon announced today.

"Individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievements and are nationally and internationally renowned as scholars may be considered for this faculty rank," states the UNM Faculty Handbook. "This is the highest faculty title the University bestows and is used only for a few of its most prominent faculty members." Distinguished Professors are nominated by their departments and/or colleges.

"It is truly my honor to announce that these three outstanding members of our faculty have earned this high distinction," Gordon said. "All three are past recipients of the highest honor UNM bestows upon members of its faculty, which is being selected as the University's Annual Research Lecturer. All three are very highly respected internationally for the contributions they have made to their respective fields."

The three are:

--UNM Regents' Professor of Anthropology Louise Lamphere is widely recognized as one of the leading anthropologists in the area of gender studies. She has served as president of the American Ethnological Society, president of the Association for Feminist Anthropology and editor of Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies.

Lamphere, who joined the UNM faculty in 1985, has been a Faculty Fellow at other universities and was named a Fellow of the Society for Cultural Anthropology and the Royal Anthropological Institute and a member of the Phi Beta Kappa honorary organization. She is the 1995 recipient of the Society for the Anthropology of North America Prize for Critical Study of North America, the 1994 Conrad Arensberg Award of the Society for the Anthropology of Work for outstanding contributions to the field and the 1994 Snead-Wertheim Lectureship awarded by the UNM Board of Regents, among other awards and honors. She is currently the president of the American Anthropological Association.

--UNM Regents' Professor of Biology James Hemphill Brown is a highly regarded ecologist and co-author of what is regarded to be the premier textbook on bio geography. He has served as president of the Ecology Society of America, the American Society of Mammalogists and of the American Society of Naturalists and as scientific advisor to the Southwestern Research Center of the American Museum of Natural History, the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis and the Malpais Border Group.

Brown, who joined the UNM faculty in 1987, is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is the recipient of other awards and honors including the Joseph Grinnell Medal awarded by the University of California at Berkeley.

--UNM Regents' Professor of Biology Randy Thornhill is an evolutionary biologist whose research findings are often controversial and the topic of national and international discussions. He has served as a consulting editor to the Journal of Comparative Psychology, associate editor to Evolution and on the advisory editorial board of Zoology: Analysis of Complex Systems.

Additionally, Thornhill, who joined the UNM faculty in 1975, is the recipient of two National Science Foundation Traineeships, a Henry Frank Guggenheim Fellowship, the Senior Distinguished Scientist Award of the Alexander Von Humboldt Foundation (Germany), a 1991 Fellowship from the Japan Society for Promotion of Science and is a Fellow of the Animal Behavior Society. He is the recipient of other awards and honors.

# # #

Please let us know what you thought of this article. Comments to:

The University of New Mexico
Public Affairs Department
Hodgin Hall, 2nd floor
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0011
Telephone: (505) 277-5813
Fax: (505) 277-1981