About the Provost: Chaouki T. Abdallah

Chaouki Abdallah ImageProvost & Executive Vice President for  Academic Affairs

Chaouki T. Abdallah obtained his BE from Youngstown State University in 1981, and his MS and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1982, and 1988 respectively. He joined the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) department at the University of New Mexico (UNM) where he is currently professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering. Between 2005 and 2011, he was the ECE department chair and became the provost and executive vice president of academic affairs of UNM on July 2011, a position he currently holds.  

Professor Abdallah was the first recipient of ECE’s Lawton Ellis Award for combined excellence in teaching, research, and student/community involvement.  Professor Abdallah also received the school of engineering senior research excellence award in 2004, and was the ECE Gardner Zemke Professor between 2002 and 2005. He served as director of ECE’s graduate program from 1999 through 2005. Dr. Abdallah was a visiting professor at the Universita Degli Studi di Roma, Tor Vergata, Rome, in 2005. He has published eight books (three as co-editor and five as co-author) and more than 300 peer-reviewed papers. 

Professor Abdallah conducts research and teaches courses in the general area of systems theory with focus on control, communications, and computing systems.  His research has been funded by NSF, AFOSR, NRL, national laboratories, and by various companies. He was a co-founder in 1990 of the ISTEC consortium, which currently includes more than 150 universities in the US, Spain, and Latin America.  He served as the general chair of the 2008 CDC, the premier IEEE conference in Decision & Control, which was held in Cancun, Mexico.  Professor Abdallah is a senior member of IEEE and a recipient of the IEEE Millennium medal.  Professor Abdallah is fluent in English, French, and Arabic. 

To view Professor Abdallah's faculty profile at The University of New Mexico's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, click here.