Search UNM 
| Mechanical Engineering Graduate Programs






Technical Areas and Websites

          The following ME faculty members are eligible to serve as the Chairperson of the Committee-on-Studies for ME Graduate Students. For the most up-to-date list of research activities, please visit the faculty members' websites (linked below).

Chris Hall, ME Dept. Chairperson; Ph.D., Cornell, 1992. Spacecraft design/dynamics/controls, nonlinear dynamics.

Juan Heinrich; Ph.D., Pittsburgh, 1975. Fluid mechanics, materials modeling.

Tariq Khraishi; Ph.D., Washington State, 2000. Solid mechanics and materials simulations.

Zayd Leseman; Ph.D., Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2006. Materials science, solid mechanics, and biomechanics.

Ron Lumia; Ph.D., Virginia, 1979. Dynamic systems and controls, software for manufacturing.

Andrea Mammoli; Ph.D., Western Australia, 1995. Multiphase systems, experimental investigations.

Svetlana Poroseva; Ph.D., Novosibirsk State (Russia), 1996. Analysis of complex systems and stochastic processes.

Arsalan Razani; Ph.D., Purdue, 1969. Thermal sciences, energy.

John Russell (no personal website is available); Ph.D., Michigan, 1974. Vibrations, stability and control of dynamic systems.

Yu-Lin Shen, Director of Mechanical Engineering Graduate Programs; Ph.D., Brown, 1994. Materials science, solid mechanics.

Francesco Sorrentino; Ph.D., Naples Federico II, 2007. Nonlinear Dynamics and Chaos.

Mehran Tehrani; Ph.D., Virginia Tech, 2012. Nanomaterials, solid mechanics, and materials science.
(Note: Dr. Tehrani will join the ME faculty in Spring 2014. His e-mail address is

Randy Truman; Ph.D., Arizona State, 1983. Fluid mechanics, heat transfer.

Peter Vorobieff; Ph.D., Lehigh, 1996. Fluid mechanics.

John Wood (no personal website is available); Ph.D., MIT, 1976. Manufacturing, design, bioengineering.



The following faculty members from other departments of the School of Engineering at UNM have secondary appointments with the Department of Mechanical Engineering. As such, these faculty members are authorized to serve as the Chair of the Committee-on-Studies for ME Graduate Students.

Mohamed El-Genk
Nuclear Engineering

Rafael Fierro
Electrical and Computer  Engineering

Deborah Sulsky

Mahmoud Reda Taha
Civil Engineering

Important Note: Students who are being advised by the above four (4) professors are not eligible for TA or PA positions funded by the ME Department.


The Mechanical Engineering building houses most research laboratories, including the Controls, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Instabilities (in collaboration with the Department of Mathematics and Statistics), Materials Science, Microprocessor, Nano-characterization, Nano-synthesis, Robotics, Turbulence, and Vibrations Laboratories. Other facilities supporting research are the Center for Advanced Research Computing  and the Manufacturing Technology and Training Center (MTTC).

The Department of Mechanical Engineering has close collaborations with the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, nearby Los Alamos and Sandia National Laboratories, and the Air Force Research Laboratory. Research facilities at these laboratories are often used by graduate students.

Some of our faculty members and graduate students have close working relationships with the centers that are linked below: