High Desert Linguistics Conference -V

University of New Mexico

November 1st & 2nd
 

2002 Presenter's abstract title and email addresses



 

  1. Catie Berkenfield, University of New Mexico catieb@unm.edu

  2. Putting Bodies into Embodiment: A Feminist Perspective on Metaphorical Structure
     
     
     

  3. Esther L. Brown, University of New Mexico browne@unm.edu

  4. New Mexican Spanish /s/: ¿Qué pa(h)a?

    .
     

  5. Matthew Burdelski, University of California, Los Angeles mburdel@ucla.edu

  6. Reported speech in Japanese parent-child interaction
     
     
     

  7. Li-Hsiang Chang, University of New Mexico changli@unm.edu

  8. Subjective Structures of the Mandarin Morpheme LE in ConversationalDiscourse
     
     
     

  9. Charlene Chamberlain, University of North Dakota

  10. Rachel Mayberry, McGill University

    The Linguistic Basis for Reading: Insights from Deaf ASL Signers
     
     
     

  11. Masanori Deguchi, Indiana University mdeguchi@indiana.edu

  12. The Source of Quantifier Scope
     
     
     

  13. Paul Edmunds, University of New Mexico pedmunds@unm.edu

  14. Shakespeare, Dickens, and Christie: A Diachronic Study of English Contractions
     
     
     

  15. David Eddington, University of New Mexico davee@unm.edu

  16. Issues in modeling language processing analogically
     
     
     

  17. Patrick Farrell, University of California, Davis pmfarrell@ucdavis.edu

  18. The Conceptual Semantics of Cognitive Verbs in Brazilian Portuguese
     
     
     

  19. Franca Ferrari, New York University f244@HOMEMAIL.nyu.edu

  20. The Perfect Correspondence
     
     
     

  21. Kareen Gervas, University of Southern California Kgervasi@aol.com

  22. On the interaction of Syntax and Discourse in Spanish Relativization
     
     
     

  23. Gabriela del Carmen Gonzalez Gonzalez, Universidad de Colima absalex@prodigy.net.mx

  24. Modalidad Epistemica en el Verbo Andar
     
     
     

  25. Lisa J. Graham, Washington College lgraham2@washcoll.edu

  26. Renovation in Clause Level Relations in Old High German
     
     
     

  27. Mie Hiramoto-Sanders, University of Hawaii at Manoa keropyon@hotmail.com

  28. Variations in the Japanese Lexical Strata
     
     
     

  29. Harry Howard, Tulane University howard@tulane.edu

  30. Spanish mood as contrast enhancement
     
     
     

  31. Joel Judd, Adams State College jbjudd@adams.edu

  32. The Language of Perceptual Control
     
     
     

  33. Masumi Kai, Visiting Scholar at Harvard University terra03@hotmail.com

  34. The double 'wa' Sentence in Japanese
     
     
     

  35. Barbara F. Kelly, University of California at Santa Barbara bfk0@umail.ucsb.edu

  36. Ought it be considered grammaticization
     
     
     

  37. Hyun Jung Koo, Sang Myung University hyunjkoo@sangmyung.ac.kr

  38. On the Semantic Network and Grammaticalization of ‘Giving’ Verbs in Korean
     
     
     

  39. Alla Kushniryk, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville (visiting scholar from Chernivtsi Y.Fedkovych National University, Ukraine) akushniryk@yahoo.com

  40. Intensifying Particles in Modern English
     
     
     

  41. Andrew LaVelle, University of New Mexico semiotics@earthlink.net

  42. The Semiotics of Time in Language: Temporal Iconicity in English Irregular Verbs
     
     
     

  43. Silke Lambert, Heinrich-Heine-Universitaet Duesseldorf Duesseldorf, Germany

  44. s_lambert@gmx.de

    What’s so special about instruments?
     
     
     

  45. Lorraine Leeson Centre for Deaf Studies, University of Dublin, Trinity College

  46. leesonl@tcd.ie

    John I. Saeed Centre for Language and Communication Studies, University of Dublin, Trinity College

    Windowing of Attention in Simultaneous Constructions in Irish Sign Language (ISL)
     
     
     

  47. Steve Legrand and Pasi Tyrväinen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland

  48. steveleg@hotmail.com

    Connecting lexical entries to distributed real-world knowledge
     
     
     

  49. Zouhair Maalej, University of Manouba, Tunis, Tunisia and Visiting Fullbrite Scholar at the University of New Mexico

  50. zmaalej@gnet.tn

    maalej@unm.edu

    Naming People in Tunisian Arabic: An Idealized Cognitive Models
     
     
     

  51. Candace Maher, University of New Mexico cmaher@unm.edu

  52. Theme, Thought, and Theory: Jicarilla Apache Classificatory Verb Stems
     
     
     
     

  53. David R. Margolin, University of New Mexico-Valencia dmarg@nedcomm.nm.org

  54. The Joy of Tawahka: An Overview of the Phonology, Morphology, and Syntax of a Misumalpan Language
     
     
     

  55. Elisa Maroney, University of New Mexico emaroney@unm.edu

  56. Aspect in American Sign Language: Expression of Signer Perspective
     
     
     

  57. Kyoko Masuda, University of Arizona and Carlee Arnett, University of California, Davis

  58. kyokom@email.arizona.edu

    kyoko1230@hotmail.com

    Dative Subjects in German and Japanese
     
     
     
     

  59. Mami Osaki McCraw , University of New Mexico mamimc@hotmail.com

  60. Evaluation in Japanese Oral Narrative
     
     
     

  61. Ana Aurora Medina Murillo, University of New Mexico amedianm@unm.edu

  62. From compounding to affixation
     
     
     
     

  63. Brenda Nicodemus and James MacFarlane, University of New Mexico

  64. jmacfarl@unm.edu

    NicodemusB@aol.com

    Frequency & Acceptability in ASL Phonotactics
     
     
     
     

  65. Loretta M. O'Connor, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen & University of California, Santa Barbara

  66. lmtoconnor@yahoo.com

    Manner-salience and state change in Lowland Chontal of Oaxaca
     
     
     

  67. Winnie W. F. Or, University of Texas at Arlington

  68. orwf@exchange.uta.edu

    Trading Places: Discourse and Identity in Chinese Local Markets
     
     
     

  69. Jung-ran Park, Indiana State University ; University of Hawaii libpark@isugw.indstate.edu

  70. Politeness and Solidarity in Korean Address Forms
     
     
     

  71. Milena Petrova, University of Southern California petrova@usc.edu

  72. Bulgarian "some" indefinites
     
     
     

  73. Seongha Rhee, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies srhee@hufs.ac.kr

  74. Grammaticalization of malta 'stop' in Korean
     
     
     

  75. Cinzia Russi, University of Washington crussi@u.washington.edu

  76. The allomorphy of the Italian masculine definite article: A ‘language-use’ based account
     
     
     

  77. Tetsuya Sato, The University of Arizona satoo_t@yahoo.com

  78. Gendered Voicedness: Style Variations in Direct Quotations as Evidence for Gender-Indexing in Japanese Conversational Narratives
     
     
     

  79. Sagit Shafikov, Ufa, Bashkir University, Russia sagit@unm.edu

  80. Semantic Universals in language Vocabulary
     
     
     

  81. Asa M. Stepak, Independent Researcher, Cum Laude graduate of New York University

  82. track76@juno.com

    amstepak@lycos.com

    Rationalism Versus Empiricism: A New Perspective
     
     
     

  83. Laurel Smith Stvan, University of Texas at Arlington STVAN@uta.edu

  84. Why and Say: Two Discourse Markers in Depicted Conversation
     
     
     

  85. Maria Szasz, University of New Mexico deschild@unm.edu

  86. Ireland’s Astounding Nineteenth Century Language Shift
     
     
     

  87. Dan Tappan, New Mexico State University, Computing Research Laboratory

  88. dtappan@crl.NMSU.Edu

    Toward Automated Scene Generation from Textual Descriptions
     
     
     

  89. Douglas C. Walker, University of Calgary dcwalker@ucalgary.ca

  90. French aspirate-h isn't aspirate, isn't <h and isn't French
     
     
     

  91. Eric Russel Webb, Western Michigan University eric.russellwebb@wmich.edu

  92. From [R ] to [R] via [z]: rethinking the history of /r/
     
     
     
     

  93. Janet Wilson University of Texas, Arlington jaw300t@smsu.edu
         The Present Tense in Kuche Narrative Discourse