Faculty

One of the most important and remarkable aspects of the Institute of Medieval Studies is its strong and diverse faculty.  IMS members are all leading researchers and teachers in fields such as manuscript studies, Mediterranean art history, medieval Spanish literature, Anglo-Saxon language, medieval medicine, digital humanities, and magic and the occult. This depth of expertise provides a rich intellectual environment for the UNM community and especially for students interested in furthering their understanding of the Middle Ages.

Core Faculty

Dr. Timothy GrahamDr. Timothy Graham
Director, Institute for Medieval Studies
Professor, Department of History
tgraham@unm.edu
Curriculum vitae

Dr. Justine AndrewsDr. Justine Andrews
Associate Professor, Department of Art & Art History
jandrews@unm.edu
Curriculum vitae

Dr. Anthony CardenasDr. Anthony Cárdenas
Professor and Chair, Department of Spanish and Portuguese
ajcard@unm.edu

Dr. Jonathan Davis-SecordDr. Jonathan Davis-Secord
Assistant Professor, Department of English
jwds@unm.edu

Dr. Sarah Davis-SecordDr. Sarah Davis-Secord
Assistant Professor, Department of HIstory
scds@unm.edu
Curriculum vitae

Dr. Leslie Donovan

Dr. Leslie Donovan
Professor and Regents' Scholars Faculty Advisor, Honors College
Presidential Teaching Fellow, 2012-14
ldonovan@unm.edu
Curriculum vitae

Dr. Fred GibbsDr. Fred Gibbs
Assistant Professor, Department of History
fwgibbs@unm.edu
Curriculum vitae

Dr. Anita ObermeierDr. Anita Obermeier
Director, Feminist Research Institute
Professor and Associate Chair for Graduate Studies, Department of English
Faculty Advisor, Medieval Studies Student Association
aobermei@unm.edu

Dr. Michael RyanDr. Michael Ryan
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of History
ryan6@unm.edu

 

Associated Faculty

Dr. James L. Boone
Professor, Department of Anthropology
jboone@unm.edu 

Dr. John Bussanich
Professor, Department of Philosophy
manonash@unm.edu

Dr. Donna Ray
Senior Lecturer, Department of History and Religious Studies
donnaray@unm.edu

Dr. Caleb Richardson
Assistant Professor, Department of History
cwr@unm.edu

Dr. Patricia Risso
Professor, Department of History
prisso@unm.edu

Colleen Sheinberg
Lecturer II and Graduate Coordinator, Department of Music
colleens@unm.edu

 

Emeriti

Dr. Helen Damico
Professor Emerita, Department of English
hdamico@unm.edu