Taos Summer Writers Conference Home

Supporting the Taos Summer Writers' Conference


Currently, the Taos Summer Writers' Conference supports three scholarships from annual revenues. In addition, we are able to offer the Leo Love Merit Awards in Prose and Poetry thanks to the generosity of private donors.
In 2011, the Barbara Robinette Moss Scholarship, a limited, invitation-only competition, honoring the memory of this remarkable artist, was made possible by generous contributions from former students and family.
In order for us to continue offering scholarships and recognizing artists and the art of writing, TSWC needs your help.
Please consider donating to an existing scholarship or starting your own!

Building an Endowment

If you are interested in helping the TSWC, please consider making a major gift to help endow the Conference. You can contact us at (505) 277-5572 or taosconf@unm.edu to make an appointment.

We welcome all contributions, big and small! As our overhead costs rise, due to University-wide cuts, we rely on help to ensure the Conference can continue at its high level.

You can donate online here


please send your check to:

Taos Summer Writers' Conference
The University of New Mexico
Department of English Language and Literature
MSC03 2170 - 1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

With your tax-deductible gift, you are helping writers succeed. Past scholarship recipients include:

The Native Writer Award Winners:
2003: Coral Dawn Bernal of Taos Pueblo
2004: Christina M. Castro of Jemez Pueblo
2005: Leslie Gee (Caddo/Delaware/Choctaw), a student at the Institute of American Indian Arts (IAIA) 2006: Max Early of Laguna Pueblo
2007: Orlando White (Navajo), a student at IAIA
2008: Oscar Hokeah (Kiowa/Cherokee), a student at IAIA
2009: C. Maurus Chino of Acoma Pueblo
2010: Chee Brossy (Navajo), a student at IAIA
2011: Monty Little (Navajo), a student at IAIA and Khara Ellasante (Choctaw/African American) of Tucson
2012: Cynthia Sylvester was born into the Kiyaa'anni (Towering House) clan for the Bilagaana (White) Clan
2013: Shauna Osborn is a member of the Yapaituka or “Root Eater” band of the Comanche tribe

The Hispanic Writer Award Winners:
2005: Frankie Ortega of Albuquerque
2006: Annette Rodriguez of Albuquerque
2007: Felecia Caton Garcia of Albuquerque
2008: Ben Garcia of Albuquerque
2009: Cathy Arellano of Albuquerque
2010: Nena Villamil of Santa Fe and Las Cruces
2011: Richard Vargas of Albuquerque
2012: Mario Gonzales of Santa Fe
2013: Donna Gutierrez of Albuquerque

Taos Resident Award Winners:
2004: Michelle Goldberg of Arroyo Hondo
2005: Laurel Bastian of Ranchos de Taos
2007: Bonnie Lee Black
2008: Jessica Wilbanks
2009: Paula Marafino Bernett
2010: Katherine Toy Miller
2011: Linda Michel-Cassidy
2012: Jean-Marie Saporito
2013: Jan Smith

Leo Love Merit Scholarship in Poetry
2007: Marjorie Saiser, Lincoln, NE
2008:Marco Dominguez, Lubbock, TX
2009: R. Flowers Rivera, Plano, TX
2010: Jane Lini, Los Alamos, NM
2011: Cedar Brant, Missoula, MT
2012: Sara Parrell, Madison, WI
2013: Adam Crittenden, Albuquerque, NM

Leo Love Merit Scholarship in Prose
2005: Janet Irvin, Springboro, OH
2006: Craig Albin, West Plains, MO
2007: Nancy Best, San Bernardino, CA
2008: Heather Swartz, Evanston, IL
2009: Candice Carnes, Albuquerque, NM
2010: Sandra Smith Hutchins, Nashville, TN
2011: Emma Rainey, Fairfield, IA
2012: Kim Bradley, St. Augustine, FL
2013: Christine Fadden, Story, WY