The Water Resources Program Faculty is a diverse group of individuals representing just about every aspect of water resources. Membership on the faculty is available to any UNM faculty member who has research, teaching or personal interests in water resources and wishes to be affiliated with the WRP. A list of current WRP faculty according to their primary affiliations follows (asterisks indicate members of the Program Committee).


Biology

Rebecca Bixby, Research Assistant Professor
505-277-8158, bbixby@unm.edu
Ph.D. University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Aquatic ecoloby, algal ecology.

Clifford N. Dahm, Professor
505-277-2850, cdahm@sevilleta.unm.edu, http://biology.unm.edu/fac_list.htm
Ph.D., Aquatic Ecology, Oregon State University. Aquatic ecology, stream/groundwater interactions, microbial ecology, nutrient cycling, microbial and chemical processes in volcanic environments.

Marcy Litvak, Assistant Professor
505-277-5580, mlitvak@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of Colorado. Plant physiological ecology.

Kelly Miller, Assistant Professor
505-277-2496, kbmiller@unm.edu

Bruce Milne, Professor
505-277-5356, bmilne@sevilleta.unm.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University. Botany & Plant Physiology.


Thomas Turner, Director, Museum of Southwestern Biology
505-277-7541, turnert@unm.edu, http://www.msb.unm.edu/fishes/index.html
Ph.D., Florida International University

Christina Vesbach


Chemistry

Stephen E. Cabaniss, Professor
505-277-4445; cabaniss@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~cabrsrch/index.htm
Ph.D., University of North Carolina. Environmental chemistry, molecular spectroscopy, HPLC, stochastic and deterministic programming.


Chemical and Nuclear Engineering

H. Eric Nuttall, Professor
505-277-6112, nuttall@unm.edu, http://www-chne.unm.edu
Ph.D., University of Arizona. Environmental sciences, waste transport and management, colloid science.


Civil Engineering

Julia E. Allred Coonrod*, P.E., Associate Professor
505-277-3233, jcoonrod@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Environmental and Water Resources, University of Texas at Austin. Water resources, GIS applications.

Bruce M. Thomson, P.E., Regents' Professor
505-277-4729, bthomson@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Environmental Science and Engineering, Rice University. Chemical behavior and treatment of radioactive and inorganic water contaminants in both surface and groundwater systems.

James R. Matthews, P.E., Associate Professor
505-277-4849, jmatthews@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Civil Engineering, University of Missouri-Rolla. Registered professional engineer, Missouri. Consultant to UNM on water treatment and energy use, member of ASCE and faculty advisor for the ASCE student chapter.

John C. Stormont, P.E., Professor
505-277-6063, jcstorm@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geological Engineering with minor in Civil Engineering, University of Arizona. Vadose zone hydrology, geotechnical engineering.

Kerry J. Howe, P.E., Associate Professor
505-277-2702, howe@unm.edu, www.unm.edu/~civil/howe.htm
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Environmental engineering, water treatment processes and design, membrane technologies.

Andrew Schuler, Assistant Professor
505-277-4556, schuler@unm.edu
Ph.D. Civil Engineering, University of California, Berkeley. Environmental engineering, wastewater microbiology & wastewater treatment.


Communication and Journalism

Tema Milstein, Assistant Professor
tema@unm.edu, www.unm.edu/~tema
Ph.D., Communication, University of Washington. Environmental communication, Cultural approaches to human relations with nature.


Community and Regional Planning

Claudia B. Isaac, Associate Professor
505-277-5939, cisaac@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~saap/People/Isaac.html
Ph.D., University of California - Los Angeles. Community and regional economic development, social theory, gender and development, Latin American studies.

Theodore Jojola, Professor
505-277-6428, tjojola@unm.edu, http://saap.unm.edu/
Ph.D., University of Hawaii. Community development, environmental design, indigenous rights, tribal economic development, microcomputer applications in education and planning.

James R. Richardson, Professor
505-277-6460, jrich@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~saap/People/Richardson.html
M.Arch./A.S., M.C.P., Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Land-use planning, community development, citizen participation, negotiation and environmental dispute resolution, urban design.

José A. Rivera*, Professor
505-277-2257, jrivera@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~spagrad
Ph.D., Brandeis University. Social policy and planning, strategic management, and rural community development in a regional setting

David S. Henkel, Jr., Associate Professor and Director of the CRP Program
505-277-1276, cymro@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~saap/People/Henkel.html
Ph.D., Cornell University . Cultural aspects of community development, natural resources and regional planning.

William M. Fleming, Associate Professor
505-277-6455, fleming@la.unm.edu, http://saap.unm.edu/
Ph.D., University of British Columbia. Watershed management, impacts of land use on water quality.


Earth and Planetary Sciences

Abdulmehdi Ali, Senior Research Scientist I
505-277-1637, mehdiali@unm.edu
Ph.D. Water chemistry, analytical methods.

Laura J. Crossey, Professor
505-277-5349, lcrossey@unm.edu, http://epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geochemistry, University of Wyoming. Clastic diagenesis and organic geochemistry, with emphasis on interaction of organic and inorganic constituents of sedimentary rocks during progressive burial, and diagenetic model development.

Yemane Asmerom, Associate Professor
505-277-4434, asmerom@unm.edu, http://epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geochemistry, University of Arizona. Applications of radiogenic isotopes (U-Series, Nd-Sr-Pb-Hf) to the study of the solid earth, oceans and climate through time.

David S. Gutzler*, Professor
505-277-3328, gutzler@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Climatology and Meteorology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Data analysis and modeling of interactions between the atmosphere, ocean, and land surfaces and climatic variability of Southwestern North America .

Leslie D. McFadden, Professor and Chair
505-277-6121, lmcfadnm@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Quaternary Geology, University of Arizona. Soil development in arid and semiarid regions; applications of soil studies to geomorphology, paleoclimate, environmental research, and geohazard evaluation.

Gary A. Smith, Professor
505-277-2348, gsmith@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Sedimentology and Physical Volcanology, Oregon State University. Sedimentology related to rift tectonics, aquifer heterogeneity, and volcanism, physical volcanology of pyroclastic deposits and composite volcanoes.

Peter J. Fawcett, Associate Professor
505-277-3867, fawcett@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Paleoclimatology and Sedimentology, Pennsylvania State University. Long-term evolution of the climate system and patterns of past global change, quaternary paleoclimatology, and climatic influences on sedimentation.

Grant A. Meyer, Associate Professor
505-277-5384, gmeyer@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of New Mexico. Hillslopes and fluvial systems; climatic, tectonic and environmental geomorphology; Quaternary geology and ecosystem processes.

Louis A. Scuderi, Associate Professor
505-277-2644, tree@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geography, University of California - Los Angeles. Paleoclimatic reconstructions utilizing dendrochronology, climatology, geographic Information Systems (GIS), image processing, global positioning systems (GPS), creation and analysis of historical and paleoclimatic databases.

Joseph Galewsky, Assistant Professor
505-277-2361, galewsky@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/facstaff/galewsky/home.htm
Ph.D., University of California - Santa Cruz. Interactions between meteorological and land surface processes, climate dynamics, orographic precipitation.

Gary Weissmann, Associate Professor
505- 277-3636, weissman@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/facstaff/weissman/home.htm
Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Hydrogeology, sedimentology, and basin analysis. Research focuses on a basin analysis approach to characterizing and modeling groundwater flow and contaminant transport.

Zachary D. Sharp, Professor
505-277-2000, zsharp@unm.edu, http://epswww.unm.edu/facstaff/zsharp/home.htm
Ph.D., University of Michigan. Stable isotope geochemistry, with application to paleoclimate reconstruction, metamorphic and igneous petrology and structural geology.

John W. Shomaker*, Adjunct Professor
505-345-3407, jshomaker@shomaker.com
Ph.D., University of Birmingham (England). Hydrogeology, water resources planning and management.


Economics

David S. Brookshire, Professor
505-277-1964, brookshi@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~brookshi/
Ph.D., Economics, University of New Mexico. Environmental and resource economics, policy issues associated with endangered species, natural hazards and water resources.

Robert Berrens, Professor
505-277-9004, rberrens@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~econ/faculty/berrens.html
Ph.D., Economics, Oregon State University. Environmental economics, nonmarket valuation, sustainability and ecological economics, environmental equity, institutional economics, riverine and public lands management, survey research.

F. Lee Brown, Professor Emeritus
flbrown@unm.edu
Ph.D., Economics, Purdue University. Water resources economics, planning, and management.

Janie Chermak*, Associate Professor
505-277-4906, jchermak@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~econ/faculty/chermak.html
Ph.D., Economics, Colorado School of Mines. Environmental economics and natural resources, applied microeconomics, empirical testing of the theory of exhaustible resources, exhaustible resource production.

Catherine (Kate) Krause, Associate Professor
505-277-3429, kkrause@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~econ/faculty/krause/krause_home.html
Ph.D., Economics, University of Wisconsin. Public finance, law and economics, experimental and behavioral economics, economic learning and behavior in children, economic issues for children and families, law and economics, sustainable resource use.

Jennifer Thacher, Assistant Professor
505-277-1965, jthacher@unm.edu


Geography

O. Paul Matthews, Professor
505-277-5007, opmatt@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~geog/MATTHEWS.htm
J.D., University of Idaho; Ph.D., Geography, University of Washington. Water resources management, water law, Federal-state relations.

Melinda Benson, Assistant Professor
505-277-1629, mhbenson@unm.edu
J.D., University of Idaho College of Law.

Paul Zandbergen, Associate Professor
505-277-3105, zandberg@unm.edu


Law

Reed Benson, Professor
505-277-1119, benson@law.unm.edu
B.S. Iowa State University, J.D. University of Michigan

Sanford Gaines, Research Professor
Director, Utton Transboundaty Resources Center, UNM School of Law
505-277-0944, gaines@law.unm.edu


Political Science

Gregory W. Gleason*, Professor
505-277-7391, gleasong@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~polsci/faculty_listing/index.htm
Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Public policy, federal relations, and international relations.


Public Administration

T. Zane Reeves, Professor Emeritus
505-277-3312, tzane@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~spagrad
Ph.D., University of Southern California. Human resources management, alternative dispute resolution, discipline and grievance handling, collective bargaining.

Santa Falcone, Associate Professor
505-277-4934, falcone@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~spagrad
Ph.D., Syracuse University. Administrative behavior, science policy and administrative and environmental issues.

Mario A. Rivera, Professor
505-277-3312, marivera@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~spagrad
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame. Program policy evaluation, and comparative public management systems.


Water Resources

Bruce M. Thomson, Professor and Director, Water Resources Program
505-277-5249, bthomson@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Environmental Science and Engineering, Rice University. Chemical behavior and treatment of radioactive and inorganic water contaminants in both surface and groundwater systems.

Michele Minnis, Adjunct Professor Emeritus
minnis@unm.edu
Ph.D., Developmental Psychology, University of Kansas. Communication, expository writing, psychology and dynamics of interdisciplinary research and collaboration.