There are approximately 60 UNM continuing faculty members, or emeritus, who are affiliated with the Water Resources Program. They constitute a diverse group of individuals from six different schools or colleges with expertise in just about every aspect of water resources. The schools or colleges represented by the faculty are Arts and Sciences, Architecture and Planning, Engineering, Law, Medicine and the UNM Libraries. Affiliation with the program is on a voluntary basis and there are no specific selection criteria nor are there any specific responsibilities required (faculty who were members of the 2014-2017 Program Committee are indicated by an asterisk (*)).


Biology

Rebecca Bixby*, Research Assistant Professor
505-277-8158, bbixby@unm.edu
Ph.D. University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Aquatic ecology

Clifford N. Dahm, Professor
505-277-2850, cdahm@sevilleta.unm.edu, http://biology.unm.edu/fac_list.htm
Ph.D., Aquatic Ecology, Oregon State University. Aquatic ecology, stream/groundwater interactions, microbial ecology, nutrient cycling, microbial and chemical processes in volcanic environments.

Marcy Litvak, Associate Professor
505-277-5580, mlitvak@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of Colorado. Plant physiological ecology.

Kelly Miller, Associate Professor
505-277-2496, kbmiller@unm.edu

Bruce Milne*, Director, Sustainability Studies Program, Professor
505-277-5356, bmilne@sevilleta.unm.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University. Botany & Plant Physiology.


Thomas Turner, Professor, Associate Dean, Arts and Sciences
505-277-7541, turnert@unm.edu, http://www.msb.unm.edu/fishes/index.html
Ph.D., Florida International University

Esteban Muldavin, Research Associate Professor, Division Leader, Natural Heritage NM
505-277-3882, muldavin@unm.edu
Ph.D., New Mexico State University. Conservation biology, community ecology, vegetation mapping.

Chemistry

Stephen E. Cabaniss, Professor
505-277-4445; cabaniss@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~cabrsrch/index.htm
Ph.D., University of North Carolina. Environmental chemistry, molecular spectroscopy, HPLC, stochastic and deterministic programming.


Chemical and Nuclear Engineering

Edward Blandford, Assistant Professor, Chemical Nuclear Engineering
505-277-5431, edb@unm.edu
Ph.D., Stanford. Risk assessment radwaste management


Robert Busch, Principal Lecturer
505-277-8027, busch@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of New Mexico, Criticality, Radwaste Management


Civil Engineering

Julia E. Allred Coonrod, P.E., Professor, Dean, Graduate Studies
505-277-6062, jcoonrod@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Environmental and Water Resources, University of Texas at Austin. Water resources, GIS applications.

Bruce M. Thomson, P.E., Regents' Professor, Emeritus, and Research Professor
505-277-4729, bthomson@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Environmental Science and Engineering, Rice University. Environmental engineering, water management, chemistry and treatment

Mark Stone*, P.D., Assistant Professor
505-277-0115, stone@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Washington State University. Water resources, arid hydrology, hydraulics

John C. Stormont, P.E., Professor
505-277-6063, jcstorm@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geological Engineering with minor in Civil Engineering, University of Arizona. Vadose zone hydrology, geotechnical engineering.

Kerry J. Howe, P.E., Associate Professor
505-277-2702, howe@unm.edu, www.unm.edu/~civil/howe.htm
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Environmental engineering, water treatment processes and design, membrane technologies.

Andrew Schuler, P.E., Associate Professor
505-277-4556, schuler@unm.edu
Ph.D. Civil Engineering, University of California, Berkeley. Environmental engineering, wastewater microbiology & wastewater treatment.


Gonzalez-Pinzon, Ricardo, Assistant Professor
505-277-2621, gonzaric@unm.edu
Ph.D. Oregon State. Surface water quality modeling.


Cerrato Corrales, Jose Manuel, Assistant Professor
505-277-2722, jcerrato@unm.edu
Ph.D. Virginia Tech. Water chemistry, chemical treatment.


Communication and Journalism

Tema Milstein, Assistant Professor
505-277-5305,tema@unm.edu, www.unm.edu/~tema
Ph.D., Communication, University of Washington. Environmental communication, Cultural approaches to human relations with nature.


Community and Regional Planning

Claudia B. Isaac, Associate Professor
505-277-5939, cisaac@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~saap/People/Isaac.html
Ph.D., University of California - Los Angeles. Community and regional economic development, social theory, gender and development, Latin American studies.

Theodore Jojola, Professor
505-277-6428, tjojola@unm.edu, http://saap.unm.edu/
Ph.D., University of Hawaii. Community development, environmental design, indigenous rights, tribal economic development, microcomputer applications in education and planning.

James R. Richardson, Professor
505-277-6460, jrich@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~saap/People/Richardson.html
M.Arch./A.S., M.C.P., Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Land-use planning, community development, citizen participation, negotiation and environmental dispute resolution, urban design.

José A. Rivera, Research Scholar
505-277-2257, jrivera@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~spagrad
Ph.D., Brandeis University. Social policy and planning, strategic management, and rural community development in a regional setting

David S. Henkel, Jr.,Professor Emeritus
505-277-5050, cymro@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~saap/People/Henkel.html
Ph.D., Cornell University . Cultural aspects of community development, natural resources and regional planning.

William M. Fleming, Associate Professor
505-277-6455, fleming@unm.edu, http://saap.unm.edu/
Ph.D., University of British Columbia. Watershed management, impacts of land use on water quality.


Caroline Scruggs*, Assistant Professor
505-277-5050, cscruggs@unm.edu, http://saap.unm.edu/
Ph.D. Stanford University. Environmental planning


Earth and Planetary Sciences

Abdulmehdi Ali, Senior Research Scientist I
505-277-1637, mehdiali@unm.edu
Ph.D. Water chemistry, analytical methods.

Laura J. Crossey, Professor
505-277-5349, lcrossey@unm.edu, http://epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geochemistry, University of Wyoming. Clastic diagenesis and organic geochemistry, with emphasis on interaction of organic and inorganic constituents of sedimentary rocks during progressive burial, and diagenetic model development.

Yemane Asmerom,Professor
505-277-4434, asmerom@unm.edu, http://epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geochemistry, University of Arizona. Applications of radiogenic isotopes (U-Series, Nd-Sr-Pb-Hf) to the study of the solid earth, oceans and climate through time.

David S. Gutzler*, Professor
505-277-3328, gutzler@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Climatology and Meteorology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Data analysis and modeling of interactions between the atmosphere, ocean, and land surfaces and climatic variability of Southwestern North America .

Leslie D. McFadden, Professor
505-277-6121, lmcfadnm@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Quaternary Geology, University of Arizona. Soil development in arid and semiarid regions; applications of soil studies to geomorphology, paleoclimate, environmental research, and geohazard evaluation.

Gary A. Smith, Professor
505-277-2348, gsmith@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Sedimentology and Physical Volcanology, Oregon State University. Sedimentology related to rift tectonics, aquifer heterogeneity, and volcanism, physical volcanology of pyroclastic deposits and composite volcanoes.

Peter J. Fawcett, Associate Professor
505-277-3867, fawcett@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Paleoclimatology and Sedimentology, Pennsylvania State University. Long-term evolution of the climate system and patterns of past global change, quaternary paleoclimatology, and climatic influences on sedimentation.

Grant A. Meyer, Associate Professor
505-277-5384, gmeyer@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of New Mexico. Hillslopes and fluvial systems; climatic, tectonic and environmental geomorphology; Quaternary geology and ecosystem processes.

Louis A. Scuderi, Professor
505-277-2644, tree@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/faculty.htm
Ph.D., Geography, University of California - Los Angeles. Paleoclimatic reconstructions utilizing dendrochronology, climatology, geographic Information Systems (GIS), image processing, global positioning systems (GPS), creation and analysis of historical and paleoclimatic databases.

Joseph Galewsky, Associate Professor
505-277-2361, galewsky@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/facstaff/galewsky/home.htm
Ph.D., University of California - Santa Cruz. Interactions between meteorological and land surface processes, climate dynamics, orographic precipitation.

Gary Weissmann, Professor
505- 277-3636, weissman@unm.edu, epswww.unm.edu/facstaff/weissman/home.htm
Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Hydrogeology, sedimentology, and basin analysis. Research focuses on a basin analysis approach to characterizing and modeling groundwater flow and contaminant transport.

Zachary D. Sharp, Professor
505-277-2000, zsharp@unm.edu, http://epswww.unm.edu/facstaff/zsharp/home.htm
Ph.D., University of Michigan. Stable isotope geochemistry, with application to paleoclimate reconstruction, metamorphic and igneous petrology and structural geology.

John W. Shomaker, Adjunct Professor
505-345-3407, jshomaker@shomaker.com
Ph.D., University of Birmingham (England). Hydrogeology, water resources planning and management.


Economics

Robert Berrens*, WR Director and Professor
rberrens@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~econ/faculty/berrens.html
Ph.D., Economics, Oregon State University. Environmental economics, nonmarket valuation, sustainability and ecological economics, environmental equity, institutional economics, riverine and public lands management, survey research, wildfire and watersheds

David S. Brookshire, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, and Research Professor
505-277-1964, brookshi@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~brookshi/
Ph.D., Economics, University of New Mexico. Environmental and resource economics, policy issues associated with endangered species, natural hazards and water resources.

F. Lee Brown, Professor Emeritus
505-277-1092, flbrown@unm.edu
Ph.D., Economics, Purdue University. Water resources economics, planning, and management.

Janie Chermak, Chair, Professor and Chairperson
505-277-4906, jchermak@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~econ/faculty/chermak.html
Ph.D., Economics, Colorado School of Mines. Environmental economics and natural resources, applied microeconomics, empirical testing of the theory of exhaustible resources, exhaustible resource production.

Catherine (Kate) Krause, Professor
505-277-3429, kkrause@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~econ/faculty/krause/krause_home.html
Ph.D., Economics, University of Wisconsin. Public finance, law and economics, experimental and behavioral economics, economic learning and behavior in children, economic issues for children and families, law and economics, sustainable resource use.

Jennifer Thacher, Associate Professor
505-277-1965, jthacher@unm.edu


Ph.D., Economics, University of Colorado, Boulder. Environmental economics, invasive species and water.

Jingjing Wang, Assistant Professor
505-277-2035, wangj@unm.edu


Ph.d., Environmental and Resource Economics, University of California-Riverside. Environmental and agricultural economics, water resource economics, computational modeling

Family & Community Medicine (Public Health)

Kristine Tollestrup, Associate Professor
505-272-9555, ktollestrup@salud.unm.edu
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Public health, epidemiology

Floyd Frost, Research Assistant Professor
505-348-8776, ffrost@salud.unm.edu


Geography

O. Paul Matthews, Professor Emeritus
505-277-2607, opmatt@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~geog/MATTHEWS.htm
Ph.D., Geography, University of Washington. Water resources management, water law, Federal-state relations.

Melinda Benson*, Assistant Professor
505-277-5041, mhbenson@unm.edu
J.D., University of Idaho College of Law. Environmental Management

Paul Zandbergen, Associate Professor
505-277-3105, zandberg@unm.edu


J.D., University of British Columbia, Geographic information systems .

Law

Reed Benson*, Professor
505-277-2146, benson@unm.edu
J.D. University of Michigan. Water Law.

Adrian Ogelsby, Director
505-277-1946, oglesby@unm.edu
Utton Transboundary Resources Center, UNM School of Law

Marilyn OLeary, Visiting Research Professor
Utton Transboundaty Resources Center, UNM School of Law
505-277-1767, moleary1@unm.edu


Public Administration

Santa Falcone, Professor
505-277-4934, falcone@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~spagrad
Ph.D., Syracuse University. Administrative behavior, science policy and administrative and environmental issues.

Mario A. Rivera, Professor
505-277-3312, marivera@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~spagrad
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame. Program policy evaluation, and comparative public management systems.


Water Resources

Robert Berrens*, WR Director and Professor
rberrens@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~econ/faculty/berrens.html
Ph.D., Economics, Oregon State University. Environmental economics, nonmarket valuation, sustainability and ecological economics, environmental equity, institutional economics, riverine and public lands management, survey research, wildfire and watersheds

Mark Stone*, P.D., Assistant Professor
505-277-0115, stone@unm.edu, http://www.unm.edu/~civil/faculty.htm
Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Washington State University. Water resources, arid hydrology, hydraulics